Making Butter from Cream

When whipping cream is on sale, I like to make whipped topping and butter (and buttermilk!)   I have a food processor so that is what I use to make butter.  Add 1 quart heavy whipping cream (or whatever amount you have on hand…I used 3 cups this time) to food processor with plastic blade, metal blade or whisk inserted.

IMG_1390 IMG_1391

Process on high for 5-10 minutes.  It will turn to whipped topping first, then will separate into butter.

IMG_1393

Drain the buttermilk off and save for later.  Think biscuits, muffins, pancakes, smoothies, etc.  I also freeze buttermilk in ice cube trays and then store in freezer storage bags (about 2T per cube).

IMG_1395

Dump butter back in food processor, add 1/2 cup cold water and blend further.  Discard water and repeat until the water is clear (about 5 times).   The remaining water needs worked out of the butter, either with a spatula (what I use), potato masher or shaking it in a covered jar.  Remove as much water as possible.

IMG_1396

Stir in a pinch of salt if desired.  And, done!  Place in butter crock, ramekins or roll in waxy freezer paper.

IMG_1397

 

Leave a comment